The Supreme Court of Louisiana has ruled that abortion is banned in Louisiana while the laws are challenged. This means we cannot perform abortions right now. If you are pregnant and need help, you can call us and our staff will explain your options.
We are relocating to a place that will allow us to continue to see the women of Louisiana. If you want to help us, please share our donations page:
Philosophy of Care
Hope Medical Group has been providing quality abortion care since 1980. We are members in good standing of the National Abortion Federation and subscribe to NAF’s Practice Policy Guidelines for the provision of abortion care. Hope Medical Group believes that ALL women have the right to quality abortion care tailored to meet their personal needs. Additionally, Hope Medical Group recognizes that deciding to terminate a pregnancy requires courage and is a decision worthy of respect. We treat women seeking abortion care with dignity and kindness—we do everything we can to ensure your visit to Hope Medical will serve your personal needs.
72-Hour State Requirement
Louisiana law requires that women receiving abortion services have an ultrasound and meet with a doctor at least 72 hours prior to getting an abortion. This session can occur several days before the termination but MUST occur at least 72 hours before surgical abortion or administration of the abortion pill. The fee for this session is $50. Hope provides this physician consultation every day except Sunday at different times and it takes about one hour. So, for example, if you want to have your procedure on Saturday, you can have your consultation on Friday (or any other day of the week) and return on Saturday for the abortion. The state required doctor session takes approximately one to two hours and includes filling out forms, an ultrasound and talking individually with a trained, caring counselor and a physician. We provide an ultrasound exam so that you have all the information you need to decide what you need to do next. Hope Medical Group will do anything we can to expedite this process to help you receive the quality care you are seeking.
Limited financial assistance is available to help cover the cost of the procedure. Eligibility is based on income and family size and your counselor can help determine your eligibility during this first visit.
This first appointment does not obligate you to terminate the pregnancy. So remember, if you are late, be early and schedule this appointment as soon as possible.
Medication Abortion: The “Early Option” Abortion Pill
Often termed the “early option” pill, medication abortion is a non-surgical method of terminating a pregnancy. This medication is not available through a pharmacist. Receiving Mifeprex (the abortion pill) requires that you come to Hope Medical Group to confirm the pregnancy is terminated after you have received the pill.
To receive Mifeprex, you must:
- Be less than 56 days from the first day of your last menstrual period
- Be 18 years of age or older
- Receive the state mandated ultrasound and counseling session by a physician in person at least 72 hours in advance
- Be willing to undergo a surgical abortion if Mifeprex fails to terminate the pregnancy
- Have a telephone and access to transportation
- Be willing to return to Hope Medical Group for a check up to ensure the Mifeprex was successful
During your first visit you will review additional information to determine if Mifeprex is the right choice for you. State required “doctor sessions” are offered six days a week and include an ultrasound exam to determine your exact length of pregnancy. Hope Medical Group also offers early surgical abortion starting at four weeks from the last menstrual period (or one week pregnant) so if you are very early into your pregnancy either Mifeprex or early surgical abortion may be available to you.
If you decide on Mifeprex and meet the requirements, you can return on Tuesday afternoon, Thursday afternoon, or Saturday to receive the pill. After an examination, you will be given Mifeprex, to take orally. You will receive a prescription for four tablets of Misoprostol to take 24 to 48 hours after the Mifeprex. These tablets will be placed between your cheek and gum where they should remain for 45 minutes. This medicine causes your uterus to contract and expel the pregnancy. Most women will miscarry four hours after this but sometimes it can take up to ten hours to pass the pregnancy. Strong cramping and bleeding is not unusual as this medicine is inducing a miscarriage. Prescriptions for nausea and pain will be given.
When using Mifeprex you must be willing to return to Hope for a checkup in two to three weeks so we can ensure the termination is complete. If Mifeprex does not terminate the pregnancy you must be willing to undergo a surgical termination.
Further Information on Mifeprex can be found at:
- Frequently Asked Questions from Danco, the manufacturer
- Early Options, from the National Abortion Federation (NAF)
- Questions and Answers from the Food & Drug Administration (FDA)
Surgical termination services at Hope are offered earlier than ever before. There is no need to wait. Hope Medical Group begins early surgical termination as early as four weeks from the first day of the last menstrual period in a procedure that takes less than ten minutes and feels like a hard, fast period. Medication is provided so a driver is required on the day you have a surgical procedure. Women are often surprised at how quick and simple the procedure is! When women leave the clinic they will feel like they are having a normal period and pregnancy symptoms begin to lessen almost immediately. Most women return to work or school the next day.
The procedure for abortion services at Hope is vacuum aspiration. The state required doctor session must be done at least 72 hours before the procedure is performed.
First Trimester Abortion
Hope Medical Group can begin performing early surgical terminations as early as four weeks from the first day of the last normal period— two weeks into the pregnancy. The entire process—lab work, examination, abortion procedure, and recovery—is completed in one visit of approximately two to three hours. The procedure itself takes less than five-ten minutes. Patients experience cramping similar to menstrual cramps as the uterus contracts. Patients are given medication prior to the procedure and afterwards usually feel like they are having a normal period as the uterus returns to its normal size. Most women return to work or school the next day.
Second Trimester Abortion
Abortions performed at Hope from the 14th week to 16.5 weeks after the first day of the last menstrual period require additional dilation of the cervix. The dilation process and the abortion are performed in one day. Generally, however, more time is spent at the clinic than for first trimester abortion. Patients can expect to be at the clinic three to five hours and afterwards usually feel like they are having a period as the uterus returns to its normal size. Most women return to work or school the next day.
Patients receiving surgical abortion care at Hope Medical Group will need to have a driver as analgesic medication is given.
Abortion services are provided on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays. All patients MUST receive the state mandated doctor session at least 72 hours before receiving a surgical or medicine abortion in the state of Louisiana. You can expect to be at the clinic approximately two hours when you come in for your abortion appointment; however, the procedure itself takes less than 10 minutes. If you are receiving surgical abortion care we ask that you have a driver as you will be medicated.
We provide the state required doctor sessions at different times every day except Sunday. These visits take one to two hours and include an ultrasound exam. State law requires that these sessions be done at least 72 hours before the abortion but can occur several days or weeks before the procedure.
Parental Consent/Judicial Bypass for Minors
The state of Louisiana requires that all abortion patients under the age of 18 have written and notarized consent from a parent or legal guardian OR have permission from a judge.
Minors are encouraged to tell their parents about the abortion and have them sign a consent form which must then be notarized. The notarized form must state that the parent or guardian knows of the pregnancy and gives permission for the abortion. A notary can be recommended by a clinic staff member, or patients and their parents can write out the statement and have it notarized themselves (most banks have notaries on staff).
Minors who are unable to tell a parent about the abortion have the option of speaking with a judge to request a judicial bypass. By law, the bypass must be issued in the parish where the minor resides or the parish where the abortion is to take place. Hope Medical Group will provide the minor with the necessary forms at the first state required doctor session. If the bypass is sought in Caddo Parish, the minor will need to meet with a judge (we will provide directions to the juvenile court complex) to prove that she is of sound mind to make the decision without a parent.
Patients under the age of 18 who are married or have been married do not need parental consent or a judicial bypass (a valid marriage license must be brought to the clinic).